2005 Competitor Magazine Endurance Sports Awards

Photos by Chris Kostman, Lisa Bliss, and Lana Jane, February 4, 2006

IMG_2500 IMG_2500a IMG_2501 IMG_2501a
IMG_2503 IMG_2505 IMG_2506 IMG_2507
IMG_2508 IMG_2509 IMG_2510 IMG_2512
IMG_2512a IMG_2514 IMG_2515 IMG_2516
IMG_2517 IMG_2518 IMG_2520 IMG_2521
IMG_2521a IMG_2522 IMG_2523 IMG_2524
IMG_2525 IMG_2529 IMG_2530 IMG_2530b
IMG_2531 IMG_2532 IMG_2533 IMG_2534
IMG_2535 IMG_2536 IMG_2537 IMG_2538
IMG_2539 IMG_2540 IMG_2541 IMG_2542
IMG_2543 IMG_2544    

The fourteenth annual Endurance Sports Awards, held February 4, 2006 at Sea World, was a very special evening organized to recognize a wide variety of endurance athletes while benefiting the Challenged Athletes Foundation, the Official Charity of AdventureCORPS. Laurie and I were pleased to share the AdventureCORPS table with some of the very best people we know: Mike Angelos, Lisa and David Bliss, Pam Foye-Needle and Scott Needle, Dan Dominy, and Lana Jane. Thanks to all of them for joining us!

The evening began with all of these good-looking athletes in tuxes and sexy dresses winning armloads of stuffed animals in the Sea World arcade. It's a fun time to hang out, reconnect, and make new friends. Then we all headed into the Nautilus Pavilion for the awards program itself. This was well organized and was emceed by Bob Babbitt, the publisher of Competitor Magazine and co-founder of C.A.F., along with Mike Reilly, the "Voice of the Ironman." They had a great stage with jumbotron screens on both sides. A video montage of the 2005 endurance races in review was played.

There were quite a few awards given, nearly all of them preceded by a one to five minute video clip about the recipient. Truly, it was a very slick and fun presentation. It was particularly neat to be there because 2005 Kiehl's Badwater Ultramarathon winner Scott Jurek received the "Runner of the Year" award.

Click here for the 2005 ESA slideshow

Click here for the 2004 ESA slideshow